Adrian Newey of Red Bull Racing Named 2024 World Car Person of the Year

  • Adrian Newey, Chief Technical Officer at Red Bull Racing, named 2024 World Car Person of the Year.
  • Newey’s RB19 dominates Formula One, winning 21 out of 22 races in the 2023 season.
  • He boasts over 35 years in Formula 1, with 200 victories for cars of his design.
  • The World Car of the Year Award recognizes luminaries in the automotive industry since 2018.
  • Newey’s triumph solidifies his legacy as a visionary in motorsport history.


Red Bull Racing’s Adrian Newey Named 2024 erson of the Year :

Adrian Newey, the designer of the RB19, the most dominant Formula One race vehicle in history, has won the prestigious honour of 2024 World vehicle Person of the Year. The announcement followed a rigorous voting procedure overseen by a panel of over 100 journalists from 29 countries.

Distinguished Finalists :

Newey emerged as the clear winner among five significant leaders in the automotive sector. His fellow contenders included C V Raman, CTO of Maruti Suzuki India; Andreas Preuninger, Director GT Model Line at Porsche; Lisa Reeves, Head of Interior Design at Volvo Cars; and Stephan Durach, SVP Connected Company Development at BMW Group.

The Driving Force Behind RB19 :

Adrian Newey, a renowned aerodynamicist, is the creative brain behind the RB19, a machine that redefines domination in Formula One. In the remarkable 2023 season, the RB19 won 21 of 22 races, leading Red Bull to their sixth Constructors’ Championship and securing Max Verstappen’s third World Championship triumph. Newey’s design concept not only delivered glory to Red Bull, but it also set a standard for competitors throughout the paddock. With over 35 years of Formula One expertise and a track record of over 200 victories for cars he created, Newey is currently at the height of his brilliant career.

Legacy of the World Car of the Year Award :

Since its inception in 2018, the World Car of the Year Award has recognised a number of automotive luminaries. Hakan Samuelsson, President and CEO of Volvo Car Group, received the inaugural award, which was followed by Sergio Marchionne, the exceptional leader of FCA, CNH Industrial, and Ferrari, in 2019. Carlos Tavares, CEO of PSA Group, was honoured in 2020, and Akio Toyoda, President and CEO of Toyota Motor Corporation, won the award in 2021. Luc Donckerwolke, Executive Vice President for Design and Chief Creative Officer at Hyundai Motor Group, was honoured in 2022, with SangYup Lee, Executive Vice President and Head of Hyundai and Genesis Global Design Centre at Hyundai Motor Company, receiving the award in 2023.

Adrian Newey’s victory in 2024 highlights his unmatched contribution to the automotive industry, cementing his status as one of motorsport history’s most visionary figures.

Leave a comment